Wickersham Commission

Wickersham Commission

National Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement (Wickersham Commission)

In line with Carol A. Archbold

about Wickersham Commission in the Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement:

In 1929 President Herbert Hoover created the National Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement. The commission is often referred to as the Wickersham Commission, named after George W. Wickersham, who served as its chairperson. The commission comprised several leading experts in criminal justice and law in the United States of America at that time. Some of the other members of the Wickersham Commission included Roscoe Pound, Newton D. Baker, Frank Loesch, Paul J. McCormick, Ada L. Comstock, William I. Grubb, William S. Kenyon, Henry W. Anderson, and Monte M. Lemann. The Wickersham Commission was created in response to some of the major crime problems relevant to that time period, including organized crime and Prohibition. To better understand the state of crime and criminal justice in the United States of America, the Wickersham Commission conducted the first federal assessment of crime and the criminal justice system over a two-year time period (1929-1931).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.